It is so easy to get caught up in the activities of the day, the daily routines. Many times we are just going through the motions of life, not realizing the impact it has on those around us, or even on ourselves. Are you just living life or are you living the life? 

Wherever you are, be present in that moment. Years ago, I read a book called “Fish! A Remarkable Way to Boost Morale and Improve Results”. One of the topics is to “Be There”, which meant to be present, in the moment, no distractions, no preoccupied thinking. Put everything else aside and just be in the moment, you know?

This book must have really struck a cord in me to remember it over a decade after I read it and I’m still talking about it! But, it’s so true. Being right here, right now is very important not only for the others you are with, but also for yourself.

There are many times when my son will say something and I’m not really paying attention; he knows it, too! He says, “Mommy, you’re not listening to me.” Of course, this happens quite often when he wants to be heard, like when it is important to him that I know that the show he’s watching was made in 2013. I’m for real, this just happened the other night! He even had to stop the show so I could see the publication date. It was important to him that I knew this program was 4 years old. I needed to be in that moment with him because he wanted to be heard.


When we all get home from work and school, it is important to me that we all sit together for dinner. I don’t think I’ve ever expressed that with my family, yet it happens every day! It is also important that we refrain from using our technology. This is not just a lesson for our son, but for us as parents as well. It’s a perfect time to focus on each other, to talk about our day and share a story of something that happened that day. It is a time to be heard and a time to feel like someone’s really listening. Of course, many times technology does come into play because it is when we show a video or something we read and want to share, but we try to push that towards the ending of the meal. It is important that we come together as a family and support one another, to be present.

Sometimes a friend will be talking about something her kids did the night before and sharing her heart. It is important to her to share and feel supported. Do you think she would feel supported if I’m half-listening and thinking about what I’ll say next to refocus the conversation on me? Probably not, right? It’s not an easy thing to do, to fully hear people and what they are saying. At times, we need to “read between the lines,” a whole different topic we can get into another time!


Wherever you are, be present in that moment. Focus all your attention on the others you are with. Allow them to speak without judging them or thinking about something else. Really hear the other person out and stop being concerned about what you will say next. Put away everything else and enjoy the moment you are in. You’ll never get that moment back, don’t waste it!

Leave a Reply

