For the second time this year, my son has had this phantom fever and mysterious cough. The first time we spent hours at the doctors office and at the Emergency Room, with no answers or diagnosis with a bill for over $700. Now it’s happening again and I cannot afford to stay home with him. It crushes my spirit. 

Knowing that I need to work when my son needs me most is heart-breaking. Yes, I can take him to work with me occasionally, but while he’s sick is not the place for him. Instead I must resort to leaving him with my mother. 

Mamas, you are not alone. It’s perfectly normal to prefer to stay home with your kiddo when he’s not well. We are typically the nurturer and have a very different relationship with our kiddo than their father. 

While my husband tries to be there for our son, it’s a different kind of relationship. The kiddo still gravitates to me when he’s not feeling well. It’s crushes my spirit that I can’t be there when he needs me. 

Leave a Reply

